Library Hours

Mon to Fri: 11 am to 6 pm

Sat: Closed

Sun: Closed

Visit Adams's profile on Pinterest.


Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required
Email Format
Translate This Page

Para traducir esta pagina en español, elige "spanish" de el menu de abajo.

Library Address
Adams Memorial Library
205 Central St
Central Falls, RI 02863


Welcome to the Central Falls Teen Space



What's new at the library for November?

Here are some YA books we've recently added to the collection:

Dumplin' by Julie Murphy

For fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell comes this powerful novel with the most fearless heroine—self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson—from Julie Murphy, the acclaimed author of Side Effects May Vary. With starry Texas nights, red candy suckers, Dolly Parton songs, and a wildly unforgettable heroine—Dumplin’ is guaranteed to steal your heart.

Dubbed “Dumplin’” by her former beauty queen mom, Willowdean has always been at home in her own skin. Her thoughts on having the ultimate bikini body? Put a bikini on your body. With her all-American-beauty best friend, Ellen, by her side, things have always worked . . .  until Will takes a job at Harpy’s, the local fast-food joint. There she meets Private School Bo, a hot former jock. Will isn’t surprised to find herself attracted to Bo. But she is surprised when he seems to like her back.  

Instead of finding new heights of self-assurance in her relationship with Bo, Will starts to doubt herself. So she sets out to take back her confidence by doing the most horrifying thing she can imagine: entering the Miss Teen Blue Bonnet Pageant—along with several other unlikely candidates—to show the world that she deserves to be up there as much as any twiggy girl does. Along the way, she’ll shock the hell out of Clover City—and maybe herself most of all.

The Secret Side of Empty by Maria E. Andreu

As a straight-A student with a budding romance and loyal best friend, M.T.’s life seems as apple-pie American as her blondish hair and pale skin. But M.T. hides two facts to the contrary: her full name of Monserrat Thalia and her status as an undocumented immigrant.

With senior year of high school kicking into full swing, M.T. sees her hopes for a “normal” future unraveling. And it will take discovering a sense of trust in herself and others for M.T. to stake a claim in the life that she wants.

Author Maria E. Andreu draws from her personal experience to tell a story that is timely, relevant, and universally poignant.

Black Widow: Forever Red by Margaret Stohl

Natasha Romanoff is one of the world's most lethal assassins. Trained from a young age in the arts of death and deception, Natasha was given the title of Black Widow by Ivan Somodorov, her brutal teacher at the Red Room, Moscow's infamous academy for operatives.

Ava Orlova is just trying to fit in as an average Brooklyn teenager, but her life has been anything but average.The daughter of a missing Russian quantum physicist, Ava was once subjected to a series of ruthless military experiments-until she was rescued by Black Widow and placed under S.H.I.E.L.D. protection. Ava has always longed to reconnect with her mysterious savior, but Black Widow isn't really the big sister type.

Until now.

When children all over Eastern Europe begin to go missing, and rumors of smuggled Red Room tech light up the dark net, Natasha suspects her old teacher has returned-and that Ava Orlova might be the only one who can stop him. To defeat the madman who threatens their future, Natasha and Ava must unravel their pasts. Only then will they discover the truth about the dark-eyed boy with an hourglass tattoo who haunts Ava's dreams. . . .

X: a novel by Ilyasah Shabazz and Kekla Magoon

Malcolm Little’s parents have always told him that he can achieve anything, but from what he can tell, that’s a pack of lies—after all, his father’s been murdered, his mother’s been taken away, and his dreams of becoming a lawyer have gotten him laughed out of school. There’s no point in trying, he figures, and lured by the nightlife of Boston and New York, he escapes into a world of fancy suits, jazz, girls, and reefer. But Malcolm’s efforts to leave the past behind lead him into increasingly dangerous territory. Deep down, he knows that the freedom he’s found is only an illusion—and that he can’t run forever.

follows Malcolm from his childhood to his imprisonment for theft at age twenty, when he found the faith that would lead him to forge a new path and command a voice that still resonates today.


Check out some of our new graphic novels!

In this third volume of Ms. Marvel, the title, "Crushed" has two meanings, as this book contains both romance and punching. I suppose that's what happens when Loki crashes the Valentine's Day dance at her school. Haven't read any Ms. Marvel? The library also has volumes one and two of this popular and critically acclaimed series!


These princesses don't need a prince to save them. Another young woman who can take care of herself, Princess Adrienne stars in this book about a princess off on a quest to save her sisters from their dragon guarded towers. We also have volumes 2 and 3.


Just arrived is Volume 4 of Deadpool Classic. Get ready for the next year's movie by reading the early adventures of "Marvel's merc with a mouth!" If you want to start from the beginning, though, you'd better put a hold on Volume 1 because it hasn't been checked in since it arrived a few months ago!


Superhero Workshop!

On Wednesday July 8, at 3:00pm, we will be hosting Eric Fulford and his workshop The Secret Lives of Superheroes! In this cartoon and comic-style illustration workshop, participants will get a chance to learn some of the drawing techniques of the pros! After designing some outstanding original characters, we will backtrack a bit to learn more about WHO those characters are. Is your character a superhero princess? Why does she leave the castle to fight evildoers? Is your character a villainous loaf of sourdough bread? What made him turn to a life of crime? One we understand who our characters are, their stories become that much easier to write.

The 2015 Summer Reading Program is made possible through funding from Adams Memorial Library, the Rhode Island Office of Library and Information Services, and the Institute of Museum and Library Services.


Check us out on Tumblr!

We now have a tumblr aimed directly at Young Adults!  Check us out at

And don't forget to follow us on Twitter to find out our word of the day! @centralfallslib  Great for test prep.


School days

With school starting back up again, I just wanted to remind you that we're here to help.  If you need any help with any sort of research, just walk up to the desk and ask!  Need recommendations for books?  Ask Miss Diana downstairs.